Red FM Intermediate Hurling League
Sat. May 18th

Blackrock 0 – 22 V Mallow 4 – 15 @ Church Road.​

Report:  Roger ryan

Following a very competitive game at Church Road on Saturday, our Intermediate hurlers lost out to a late surge by Mallow. We certainly had the better of the exchanges in the first half and were ahead by 2 points at the break. An opening point by Mallow was quickly answered by a point each from Dave Garvan, Fionn Coleman and 2 from Brian Sweeney. Mallow's second point was followed by 1 point each from Eoin O'Farrell, Fionn Coleman and Ryan Sweeney to put us ahead by 5, 0 – 07 to 0 – 02. Mallow hit back strongly and with 5 points on the trot drew level at 0 – 07 each. Lee O'Sullivan had 2 points for us and Eoin O'Farrell, Ian O'Keeffe and Dave Garvan with a point each, restored our 5 points advantage. Mallow with a goal and a point reduced our lead to 1 point and Tom Grainger rounded out the first half with a point to leave us leading by 2, 0 – 13 to 1 – 08 at the half time break.

Diarmuid Cormack extended our lead to 3 points with the opening score of the second half but Mallow got through for their second goal to draw level, 0 – 14 to 2 – 08. Mallow went ahead with the next point but points from Ryan Sweeney, Eoin O'Farrell and Ian O'Keeffe had us ahead again by 2 points, 0 – 17 to 2 – 09. Mallow's next point was answered by a similar score from Eoin O'Farrell and when Mallow scored their next point, we replied with 1 point from Eoin and 2 from Ian to push us 4 ahead again. A Mallow point was equalised by Fionn Coleman to leave us ahead still by 4 points, 0 – 22 to 2 – 12. Mallow then scored 2 goa;s in quick succession to forge ahead and when they added a further 2 points, it put them in the lead by 4, 0 – 22 to 4 – 14. With time running out Mallow were awarded a late free which they converted for a point and thus ran out winners by 5 on a final score of 0 – 22 to 4 – 15.

Scorers; Eoin O'Farrell 0 – 05( 2x65, 2f,), Ryan Sweeney 0 – 04, Ian O'Keeffe 0 – 04, Fionn Coleman 0 – 03(1f), David Garvan 0 – 02, Lee O'Sullivan 0 – 02, Tom

Grainger 0 – 01, Diarmuid Cormack 0 – 01.

Team: Ross Browne, Tom Harrington, Luke O'Donovan, Joe Golden, Fionn Coleman, Diarmuid Cormack, Rob Cregan, P.J.Linehan, Lee O'Sullivan, Eoin O'Farrell, Ryan Sweeney, Ian O'Keeffe, David Garvan, Connor Coakley, Tom Grainger.

Subs Used: David O'Farrell, Kevin Morgan.

Referee: Pat lyons.