Latest History Articles

The Marian Park team that played in Blackrock Parish Leagues circa 1958
Back Row l-r Tim Dorney, Paddy O Driscoll, Eddie Burke, Jim Kelly, Donal Coughlan, Nicky O Leary, Tom Collins
Front Row Michael Hallissey,Owen Cotter, Pat Noonan, Noel Crowley,Peter Cox .
Seated front row Christy Looney and Anthony Noonan pic supplied by John Hayes


1963 City & County Champions. Blackrock Minor Hurlers.
Back Row (l to r):- D. O'Mahoney, D. Coughlan, T. Falvey, M. O'Connell, P. Geary, S. Geary, M. O'Halloran, K. Kelly, M. Slye, M. Donegan.
Middle Row (l to r):-R. Lehane, M. O'Connell, F. Coughlan, T. O'Connell, E. Burke, D. O'Sullivan, B. Cremin, K. Cummins. Front Row (l to r):-D. O'Connor, G.Cahill.

The club recently completed an historic 3 in a row Minor County Championships but it was the men of 1963 who first brought the Minor County to Blackrock. We would like to invite all to the club on Friday night October 25th to join with the '63 Champions in celebrating the 50th Anniversary of this historic win. On route to the county championship they first had to capture the City Championship and took part in a classic City Final against great rivals St.Finbarrs. The match report below is taken from "The Rockies - A Centenary Year Publication".


The following is a report from the Irish Examiner of the Cork County Senior Hurling Final of 2002 when Blackrock captured their 32nd title.

Browne goal decisive as Rockies retain title

Sunday, September 15, 2002
Blackrock 1-14 Newtownshandrum 0-12
By Jim O’Sullivan of The Irish Examiner

THE actual achievement of back-to-back wins by Blackrock in the Permanent TSB Cork SHC after a 23-year-gap was arguably more praiseworthy than the manner of its execution in yesterday’s final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The fact is that while they looked more probable winners from the time Alan Browne goaled just before half time, some bad finishing left them unnecessarily vulnerable when 2000 champions Newtownshandrum hinted at a late recovery.


The Rockies have won three All-Ireland Club Hurling Championships since the competition took on its modern form in the seventies. All victories came in the seventies during the club's golden period. The Rockies teams that captured the Tommy Moore Cup during that decade are counted among the greatest club sides in the association's history. Blackrock are third in the roll of honour of the post 1970 competition but also count five pre-1970 All-Ireland Championships to our name. Below are the teams and scores from each victory in the seventies.

1972 All Ireland Senior Club Championship Final. Blackrock 5-13, Rathnure (Wexford) 6-09
B Hurley, P. Casey, P. Geary, J. Horgan (capt), S. Murphy, F. Cummins, F. Norberg, M. Murphy, P. Kavanagh, D. Collins, R. Cummins, P Moylan, B. Cummins, J. Rothwell, D. Prendergast.



The above is a fascinating old picture of an early 20th Century Rockies Panel. We would love to hear from anyone who can identify when it was taken or who is in the picture. (From The Cork Examiner Archives, Cork City Library).

Below is an image of the 1939 team. Please email if you can identify anyone in either picture.
Result. Blackrock 2 - 5 Glen Rovers 5 - 4.
1939 team.jpg
Back Row. (l to r) Mick Cotter, Der Cogan, Georgie Carroll, A.N Other, A.N Other, Paddy Donoghue, Ted Sullivan.
Middle Row. (l t or) Paddy Hayes, A.N Other, Johnny Quirke, John Norberg, A.N Other.
Front Row. A.N Other, Micky Kelly, Tommy Coughlan`.

Can anyone identify the missing names above?
According to the team list, the following played.
S.Warren, T. Greaney, M Whyte, D Keeffe, and P.Keeffe.


Sean Og Murphy Cup.jpg

No club in Cork has raised the Cork County Championship Cup above their heads more than The Rockies. The trophy is named after one of our own, the great Sean Og Murphy. In our latest history article, you can read all about this great Rocky and G.A.A. legend.

Jackie 'Seán Óg' Murphy 1897–1956
Position: Full-back
Playing Years at Club: 1912-1929
Cork titles: 5
Inter-county Munster titles: 6
Inter-county All-Ireland titles: 3

Jackie 'Seán Óg' Murphy (1897–1956) was a famous Irish sportsperson. He played hurling with his local club Blackrock and with the Cork senior inter-county team from 1915 until 1929. Murphy captained Cork to the All-Ireland title in 1926 and 1928. His inclusion on the Cork Hurling Team of the Century marks him out as one of his county’s greatest-ever players.

Early life